Who is Up for Induction to the National Soccer Hall of Fame

By Sean McCaffery, March 11, 2020

Added to ballots are a quartet of retirees, and 5 builders, voting on the 2020 class begins March 18. Those added have in fact met the qualifying criteria. 

New Veteran Players: Frank Klopas, Taylor Twellman, Marco Etchevery Steve Zungul. Interesting no mention is made of his time with the MISL NY Arrows, my first team or his many times named to an all league team there. Twellman joined the family business as a pro soccer player after his father and uncle.

We had prevously gone over the criteria to be nominated as a Veteran and Builder, we will not touch on them here.

Those alread on the ballot as Veterans:

Chris Armas now RBNY HC

John Doyle

Marco Etcheverry of early MLS DC United

Mary Harvey USWNT GK

Chris Henderson

Frank Klopas

Shep Messing NY Arrows, Cosmos, my first boss in soccer

Tifffany Roberts

Greg Vanney

Tisha Venturini-Hoch

I only commented on those that I actually know who are up for election.

The Builders:

Mark Abbott

Esse Baharmast

Joe Cummings

Richard Groff

Sandra Hunt

Robert Kraft

Francisco Marcos founder of what is now USL

Thom Meredith, decades and still involved in biggeer international games

Kevin Payne early MLS & now US Club Soccer

For more details please see nationalsoccerhof.com.