US Soccer Nominees for Young and Disability Play of the Year

By Sean McCaffery, November 27, 2019

The vote to fill these annual selections opens Nov. 27, closing on Dec. 6 at MIdnight. In the 2nd wek of Dec. the winner will be announced.

For the Men:
Sergino Dest: a great showing in the U-20 World Cup, great outings with Ajax lead to USMNT time.

Paxton Pomykal: his tremendous effort in Poland at the U-20 World  Cup and MLS play got him to Bayern Munich.

Chris Richards: Now of Bayern Munich also from the U-20 World Cup squad with a selection as on of the top 10 players to watch list.

Gianluca Busio: the most pro games ever for a player on the U-17's.

Gio Reyna: U-17's top goal getter and now with Borussia Dortmund.

Ricardo Pepi: lent his talents to the U-17's and goals to pro team North Texas SC getting their spot in the league final.

For the Women:

Casey Murphy: Back from Europe, now with the Reign and invited to the USWNT ID Camp.

Trinty Byars:31 goals over 18 games in the USSDA for her Solar Soccer Club to take the U-16/17 title.

Naomi Girma: U-20 WNT, soph. capt. at Stanford called into the USWNT ID Camp.

Brianna Pinto: U-20 WNT, helped UNC to a 22-1 record and now invited to the USWNT ID Camp.

Allyson Sentnor: SI Kids SportsKid of the year, top scorer for the U-17 WNT while playing an age group up.

Disability Player of the Year:

Steve Everett: Player/Coach of Power Soccer, expanding investment in the game and access.

Holly Hunter: US Deaf Women's NT, a great defender for USSDA club Legends FC and brought in for 2 USYNT camps .

Nick Mayhugh: US Para 7-a Side player, his 2nd year straight on the ballot, his goals and intagibles brought the team to historic levels this year.

Michael Schmid: US Deaf Men's National Team, Golden Boot winner as the US took the Gold at the Pan-Am Games in Chile.

Voters are NT Coaches, senior NT players capped in 2019, US Soccer Board of Directors, US Soccer Athlete's Council, select media members, ex players and administrators. Their NT HC put them up for nominations. You may win the Young Player Award once only.