The MAC Hermann Trophy is Handed out

By Sean McCaffery, January 4, 2020

The top players in NCAA soccer have been named, one is a repeat, the first in the women's game since Morgan Brian with her pair in 2013 & '14. We had hoped for Dylan Nealis to win it, yes he is a local out of Massapequa and his team, Georgetown won the title, his opponent who had a goal in the final, Jr. Joe Bell of Clemson were both runners up to Clemson Jr. Robbie Robinson, coached by Mike Noonan a former player for my Louisville Thunder. He is the first Tiger to take the trophy since St. John's transfer Wojtek Krakowiak in 1998 and 3rd overall. For his part Robinson had tremendous offensive numbers, tops in the NCAA in points with 45, his 18 goals tied him for the top spot and the 9 assists had him knotted up for 5th. Clearly the ACC Offensive Player of the Year, Robbie was the first from his team since 1998 to net more than 1 hat trick on a season, leading the nation in four areas and in the top 10 in 8 overall he was a force to be reckoned with. His Tigers did bow out in the quaters.

Muito Legal, Catarina Macario, the rare 2 named Brazilian soccer star, the Junior midfielder for Stanford now has 2 out of a possible 3 trophies to her name. This 10 pound beauty of a crystal ball had been given out since 1967 bestowed upon the USC National Players of the Year in Div. 1 of NCAA soccer. The votes are tabulated from NCAA D1 coaches. What an encore 2019 was in following up on her 2018 win as well, this PAC 12 Midfielder of the Year re-wrote the Stanford record books and lead the nation in goals with 32, assists 23, truly a career year. The 3rd year player and 3X All-American brought the Cardinals to their 3rd NCAA title, all good things do cocme in 3's. Those who finished behind her in the final voting were Sr. mid. Jessing Fleming another CA student out of UCLA & from NC, Jr. def. Emily Fox.