Cosmos Defeat FC Baltimore; Capture NPSL Northeast Region Title

By Sean McCaffery, July 22, 2019

Contributed by Steven Torres

New York Cosmos topped visiting FC Baltimore, 3:1, to capture 2019 NPSL’s (National Premier Soccer League) Northeast Regional Title at Uniondale’s Mitchel Athletic Complex on Sunday evening.

Forward Issac Acuna gave the hosts the lead in the fifth minute-mark, but midfielder Nick Gumbs tied it for Baltimore just before the intermission.

Baltimore was reduced to 10 players after defender Joseph Glos received a straight red card by the referee in the 60th minute.

Ten minutes later, Albanian international midfielder Ansi Agolli scored off an assist from Acuna to give the Cosmos a 2:1 advantage.

In 82nd minute, El Salvadorian international midfielder Junior Burgos sealed Cosmos’ victory with team’s third tally.

In 90th minute-mark, both teams each had players ejected as Cosmos forward Aaron Dennis, a second-half substitute, and Baltimore’s Khalid Balogun were sent off.

Top seeded Cosmos, which also lifted the Northeast Region trophy after the game, will host NPSL National Semifinal encounter, at Mitchel Athletic Complex, against #4 seeded - ASC San Diego on Saturday, July 27, at 7 pm.


NPSL Northeast Region Final

07.21.2019: Uniondale, N.Y.; Mitchel Athletic Complex


Issac ACUNA 5’; Ansi AGOLLI 70’; Junior BURGOS 82’ – Nick GUMBS 45’

NY Cosmos: Paul Blanchette – Pedro Galvao, Emmanuele Sembroni (83: Garrett Halfhill), Matt Lewis, Kevin Venegas, Ansi Agolli (75: Aaron Dennis), Danny Szetela, Junior Burgos (83: Salvatore Barone), Ricardo Bocanegra (86: Giuseppe Barone), Darwin Espinal (80: David Diosa), Issac Acuna (80: Bledi Bardic).  Booked: Galvao 62’, Sent offs: Dennis 90’

Coach: Carlos MENDES

FC Baltimore: Casey Beyers (86: Michael Zierhoffer) – Jonathan Bell, Jake Dengler, Joseph Glos, Kyle Saunderson (75: Colin Weyant), James Gielen (75: Ben Bender), Malcolm Harris, Eddy Rodriguez (63: Jayson Cyrus), Khalid Balogun, Nick Gumbs, Cesare Marconi (55: Arion Sobos-Assue).  Booked: Saunderson 40’, Cyrus 81’, Coach-Sancomb 90’, Sent offs: Glos 60’, Balogun 90’

Coach: Lawrence SANCOMB

Written by Steven Torres